Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Edmund Sylvester

Growth of inclusion of the disabled in the fabric of society through the game of golf

Edmund SylvesterI’m a triple amputee, as a result of Sepsis causing me to lose both feet, one hand and several fingers on my right hand.

Not knowing what to do with my new body after spending nine months in the hospital and in rehabilitation, given my passion for photography and golf, I was fortunate to start the Freedom Golf Association ( FGA) as its Chairman in 2012. FGA grew the number of adaptive golf clinics in the first year (2013) for 178 disabled individuals, to 9,499 participant lessons in 2019.
Seeing the larger national need, I formed the United States Adaptive Golf Alliance-USAGA in 2014. Given the financial challenges under the COVID-19 pandemic, FGA merged in 2019 with United States Adaptive Golf Alliance (USAGA) which has successfully grown from five organizations in 2015 to forty-one (41) adaptive golf member organizations today. These organization members/associates offer +/- 20 adaptive golf tournaments annually.

Also, approximately 41,000 disabled individuals are included in the fabric of society through the game of golf annually. I am also pleased that the United States Golf Association (USGA) now recognizes the adaptive golf community having held its inaugural USGA Adaptive Golf Open this past July at the Pinehurst GC. Three hundred adaptive golf players from around the world applied, 96 were selected of which 47 were from our organization the USAGA.

Just a short history respectfully submitted,

Edmund ”EQ” Sylvester
Founder – Chairman Emeritus
United States Adaptive Golf Alliance
504 Burr Ridge Club Dr.
Burr Ridge, Il 60527
(P) 630-697-4345

Awards & Recognitions
2022 – Certificate of Appreciation – Shriner’s Hospitals for Children
2022 – Member – American Golf Industry Coalition (AGIC)
2021 – USGA announces: 1st US Adaptive Open
2020 – Henry Viscardi Achievement Award
2020 – Partner – PGA of America
2020 – SPS Alumni Award
2019 – Player Development Award
2015 – Dennis Walters Courage Award
2015 – Business Development Award